On the Road Again

After managing to spend all but one night at home since the beginning of the year, I kicked off 2013 travel with relish by visiting Camellia Forest Nursery in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, on my way to a family weekend in Virginia. Only a few miles off my usual route, I was eager to examine the camellias and other winter-blooming ornamentals offered by this highly-regarded plant nursery.

Camellia Forest Nursery is considered a "gem" by gardeners and industry experts alike.

Camellia Forest Nursery is considered a “gem” by gardeners and industry experts alike.

Camellia Forest, along with Plant Delights and Pine Knot Farms, are opening their doors for winter visitors over the next two weekends (Feb 22-24 and March 1-3) and are expecting the usual deluge of gardeners from the Southeast, from Maryland to Georgia, and even points further afield. (Please check nursery websites to confirm days and times.)

Choisya ternata 'Sundance'

Choisya ternata ‘Sundance’

Ardisia japonica

Ardisia japonica

Priula vulgaris 'Drumcliff'

Priula vulgaris ‘Drumcliff’

Lucky for me, I had the opportunity sneak in before the crowds. With the help of Brie Gluvna, Cam Forest’s knowledgeable and vivacious propagator and grower, I chose three plants for my (mostly shady) Greenville garden: Choisya ternata Sundance (Mexican orange), Ardesia japonica (Marlberry), and Primula vulgaris ‘Drumcliff’ (primrose) from the Kennedy Irish Primrose collection.

I wrote a profile on Choisya termata recently for The Greenville News after seeing the eye-catching shrub at the SC Botanical Garden in Clemson. The young leaves of Sundance are a brilliant yellow, and since they are arranged at branch tips, the brightly-colored foliage is as decorative as flowers.

The Ardesia japonica with its cheerful berries was selected as a ground cover for dry shade, while the Primula was picked for its handsome dark foliage.

I’ll be on the road again this week and next for top-notch gardening events, so stay tuned to see where I land next. You won’t be disappointed, I promise.

11 thoughts on “On the Road Again

    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Anita–some but not all primula species grow outside in the Upstate. P. vulgaris, commonly called English primrose, is among those that will. In general, they want moist, rich soil and cool, humid air in a shady location.

      Reply
  1. indygardener

    I can only dream… sitting here in my zone 6 garden (I assume those plants are not hardy here, as I’ve never heard of two of them. Maybe the Primula…)

    Reply
  2. Marian St.Clair

    Gardeninacity–Plant Delights alone is worth the trip from the Midwest. Raleigh is fabulous. Add JC Raulston Arboretum and the Raleigh Farmers’ Market to your list. And the Sarah P. Duke Garden is in nearby Durham.

    Reply
  3. Karen Allen

    I have a 10′ x 6′ swath of ardisia in berry if anyone would like some or more for you to fill in. It does great along my retaining wall. I wonder if the seeds would sprout before the plant sale.

    Reply
  4. Janet, The Queen of Seaford

    I haven’t seen a dark foliage primrose, very pretty. I would have loved to stop at Camellia Forest, it is down the street from another blogger’s house. I stopped last spring to visit with her and drove by Cam. Forest. (almost did a U- turn!) All three stops would be a great visit!!
    Wanted to ask you where you got the Prunus mume ‘Hokkai Bungo’ — saw that they had it at Cam. Forest but if I can find it closer …….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

