Tea Anyone?

The Mad Hatter: Have I gone Mad?

Alice: I’m afraid so. You’re entirely bonkers. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.

Why didn't you arrive earlier?  The clock says you're two days late!

Why didn’t you arrive earlier? The clock says you’re two days late!

Can you believe as many as six impossible things before breakfast?

Can you believe as many as six impossible things before breakfast?

If you have to be mad as a hatter to attend a tea party like the one featured at the Philadelphia Flower Show, bring on the mercury! This display, created by Petals Lane in their debut year, took the ice cream along with the cake.

Every time I made a loop of the exhibit hall, I ended up at the tea table, not just to see it and photograph it again, but to watch others discover its magic. Twinkling chandeliers, an opulent table, mismatched chairs, touch-me florals, tree-sprouting treasure trunks, and Wonderland Bronze from the Robert James Workshop Ltd in Dorset, England, coalesced into a sumptuous and breathtaking craziness.

Who are YOU? said the caterpillar.

Who are YOU? said the caterpillar.

I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then.

I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then.

Curiouser and curiouser!

Curiouser and curiouser!

The pleasure it bestowed wasn’t the exhibit’s only reward. It was honored with the Special Achievement Award for a unique feature or design element, a Special Achievement Award of the Garden Club Federation of Pennsylvania to an exhibit of unusual excellence (under 1,000 sq. feet) in the category of Creativity, and the Phyllis M. Craig Award for the Floral major exhibit demonstrating the best use of color in flowering and/or foliage plants in an innovative or unique design.

How do you know I'm mad? said Alice.  You must be, said the cat, or you wouldn't have come here.

How do you know I’m mad? said Alice. You must be, said the cat, or you wouldn’t have come here.

9 thoughts on “Tea Anyone?

  1. Diannthus

    Spectacular! I was able to enlarge the photos and then again zoom in further. God is indeed in the details. And your commentary was delightful.

    Reply
      1. Diannthus

        Just back from Petals Lane, and what a surprise. I had just presumed they were English!
        Must have been the tussy mussy of cameos & vintage brooches and the exquiste china. Will also be back for floral inspiration.

  2. Debra Strange

    I think I could be perfectly happy sitting at that table and sipping a mysterious, (possibly dangerous?) brew! Thanks for these gorgeous photos Marian!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

