March Bloom Day–Part II

Home never looked as good as it did yesterday at 6:15 p.m. when I pulled into the driveway after a 500 mile drive from Washington, DC. The journey was not as mind-numbing as usual, however, since I traveled from winter into spring. In fact, just before I turned into the neighborhood, I noticed it was 72 degrees on the car thermometer. Incredible!

About half way through North Carolina I began to see Bradford pear trees in bloom. Bred to be sterile (self-incompatible), Pyrus calleryana readily cross-pollinates with other species and is an invasive nuisance in the South that grows wild along fences and under electric lines. Around here, they’ve also been dubbed a Walmart Indicator Species, or in other words, not a tree you want to grow in your garden.

Despite their ills, I wasn’t sorry for the pear’s cheerful flowers yesterday. To me, they appeared to be winter’s white flag of surrender.

When I got off the interstate and headed into Greenville, the landscape became decidedly more interesting. Within a few short miles I saw a host of tulip magnolias in flower, along with a wealth of forsythia and a few cherry trees.

Though my garden is too shady for these spring blooms, I wasn’t disappointed by what I found at home.

Ipheion uniflorum (Blue starflower)

Ipheion uniflorum (Blue starflower)

Gelsemium sempervirons (Carolina jessamine)

Gelsemium sempervirons (Carolina jessamine)

Corylopsis pauciflora (Buttercup winterhazel)

Corylopsis pauciflora (Buttercup winterhazel)

Euphorbia 'Ascot Rainbow'

Euphorbia ‘Ascot Rainbow’

Unfortunately, it seems I brought DC’s windy, wet, and cold weather with me to the Upstate. Today’s high was nearly 30 degrees lower than Sunday’s and a daylong drizzle became an evening thunderstorm.

But isn’t that just like Mother Nature?

She’s such a tease.

12 thoughts on “March Bloom Day–Part II

    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Gardeninacity–The Ipheion where already in the garden when I moved here a couple years ago. The gardener before me had a thing for blue flowers and I’m the lucky beneficiary.

      Reply
  1. pbmgarden

    Beautiful images. The Bradford pears were a favorite around my town for a few years and they were pretty, but they also have an unpleasant odor. But like you I can’t help appreciating them at harbinger of spring.

    Reply
  2. Patterson Webster

    You drove from winter into summer as you left D.C. I’ll be coming from real winter in Montreal — we had inches of snow only two days ago — and into what I hope will be a D.C. spring. With luck, everything will be blooming.

    I do enjoy your images.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

