25 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday 8/7/13–Swamped!

    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Will–thank goodness I don’t have much planted there yet. I’ve added a handful of dogwoods and other trees, but I’m still putting most of my time and effort in fighting the invasive plants.

      Reply
  1. beth croft

    So sorry; I heard that they closed the Riverside course yesterday as well..too much water in that area!

    Reply
  2. Helen Johnstone

    that doesnt look good and I wonder how the fertility of the soil will be affected when the water has gone.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Helen–I’ve spent the last 2 summers fighting Japanese knotweed on the lower terrace. I don’t even want to think about the seeds the flood might have carried in.

      Reply
  3. Elllen

    Saw the falls yesterday and they were raging. Glad you are high up on the bank. We had very little rain here in the past two days. However, everything is saturated.

    Reply
  4. Karen Allen

    Parts of my yard flood periodically, already multiple times this season. You will be gifted with many unexpected items. Some will be treasured seeds! I collect the driftwood left behind by the waters. Nature’s bounty.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Nina–we had a heavy downpour, some say as much as 3 inches in an hour, that caused a flash flood. This is the second time in recent weeks the river has overflowed its banks in my area, but the first time we saw it happen.

      Reply
  5. Dale Sutton

    Lived on the Chattahoochee in Atlanta for many years in Northeast Atlanta/Buckhead. Miss it still, the glory of living on the river with all the ups and downs it brings. Love to hear your experiences. Love your blog and column. Now, on Parkins Mill have also had our share of water “problems” to our raised bed and other gardens but overall are thankful for the rains!! Still harvesting plenty of tomatoes, cucumbers and okra on the acre along with enjoying beautiful clematis, lilies, hydrangeas etc. in our less than three year old gardens along with the koi, goldfish and birds. Life is VERY good in Greenville.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Dale–glad to hear your veg garden is producing. I know more than a few who have given up on veggies! Like you, I’m happy for the rain; we needed a “catch up” year. Hoping for lower humidity and blue skies in fall, though. Fingers crossed!

      Reply
  6. Anita Humphries

    Wow! That is unreal! I remember your post about the tires and the snakes. Hopefully they are all far downstream after that deluge!

    Reply
  7. Linda Peters

    Still raining here on Paris Mt. Feel blessed to be high and dry! The summer of 2013 will stick in our minds for a long time after such a long drought!

    Reply
  8. beth jimenez

    Marian- so sorry you’re getting more than your share down there.I will keep my fingers crossed that the worst is over and the weed seeds will not be big problem.

    Reply
  9. Barbara Wilder

    Sometimes the only thing to do sit back, listen to music of the sound of rushing water. Reminds me of a Doc Watson song lyric!
    Let it rain, let it pour,
    Let it rain a whole lot more,
    ‘Cause I got them deep river blues,
    Let the rain drive right on,
    Let the waves sweep along,
    ‘Cause I got them deep river blues.

    Reply
  10. Janet, The Queen of Seaford

    Oh Marian, I am so sorry. I had flooding in my yard in Virginia quite often and it breaks your heart over and over again. We have had such large amounts of rain this summer, I wondered how your yard faired. Most of the plants you have in the back are natives so hopefully they will be ok. My heart goes out to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

