Love Me For Me

I’m just home from a quick trip to Roots, one of Greenville’s all-time best garden/plant/home stores, which conveniently happens to be just around the corner. Of course, as garden columnist for the local newspaper, I consider it my job to visit all garden establishments on a regular basis, but a girl is allowed to have favorites, right? How many shops do you know, for example, that would allow you to cart their plants outdoors to create a valentine?

Bless your little kalanchoe heart!

Bless your little kalanchoe heart!

Sometimes, I visit Roots just to smell the plant-scented air, but today I stopped by with a container to refill with houseplants. It’s Valentine’s Day, after all, and after three days indoors for the latest snowpocalypse, I was past due for a “love me for me” moment. As usual, temptations were plentiful.

Who could resist  hydrangeas and hellebores?

Who could resist hydrangeas and hellebores?

Or these colorful fairy garden ornaments?

Or these colorful fairy garden ornaments?

Wow!  Look at this new display case...

Wow! Look at this new display case…

And this adorable frog and vivid orange pot...these have my name written all over them!

And this adorable frog and vivid orange pot…these have my name written all over them!

I’m not willing to spill all my secrets, so let’s just say it was a good day. And the refilled container is perfect to chase away any remaining winter doldrums…with an orange-flowering kalanchoe combined with parsley aralia (Polyscias fruticosa), rattlesnake plant (Calathea lancifolia), and a dark-leaf trailer, friendship plant (Pilea involucrate).

Happy Valentine's Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

(Many thanks to my fabulous friend Pam Beck for her assistance with houseplant identification!)

11 thoughts on “Love Me For Me

  1. beth jimenez

    Marian,
    You are so lucky to have that amazing shop in your area.My gang from Raleigh is still talking about our visit to Roots and we
    constantly remark about the fact that we have nothing like that here.Envious!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

