14 thoughts on “(Almost) Wordless Wednesday–April 2, 2014–Ahead of the Bulldozer

  1. Susan Temple

    Thank goodness for rescuers !!! Mother and I rescued Trillium, ferns, and Indian Pinks several years ago in Lowdnesville before my “pup wood” cutting cousins tore up the woods. It was a wonderful woodland patch. It’s slowly growing back. We haven’t been lately to see what might have survived.

    Reply
  2. Val Hutchinson

    I remember being with Bootsie Manning in Woodcreek, just as they were developing the neighborhood. She would call me urgently and say, “I’m coming by to pick you up – their bulldozing today and we’ve got to save the sundew!” I always thought I was with Mother Nature when we went on our rescue missions. Such great memoriesI Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  3. Chloris

    I am glad you rescued them but it is so sad that the site is being bulldozed. It is strange to think of Tilliums as wild flowers, they are so choice and exotic here. Are they rare i)n the wild?

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Chloris–the trilliums, especially Sweet Betsy, are common in the Southern Applachian Mountains. We also have Catesby’s Trillium (T. catesbaei) , Yellow Trillium (T. luteum), Pale Yellow Trillium (T. discolor), Wake Robin (T. erectum), Large-Flowered Trrillium (T. grandiforum), Relict Trillium (T. reliquum), Painted Trillium (T. undulatum), and Vasey’s Trillium (T. vaseyi).

      On Wednesday, I moved 2 to 3 dozen of the Sweet Betsy Trilliums from the development site to my woodland garden above the Reedy River which is only a short distance away. Unfortunately, we had our first hot days on Wednesday and Thursday, with temperatures in the 80s, so fingers crossed they survive the transplanting.

      Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Jason–I’m with you. The disturbed property is just beyond my neighbor’s yard, so it is only about a city block’s length from my back door. We saw the auction sign a few weeks ago and now I wish we had at least looked into what might happen. It seems a poor site for development, as it’s all low land near the river.

      Reply
  4. The Editors of Garden Variety

    I am happy you were able to get them out in time. It would have been a great loss to nature if they were destroyed.

    Reply
  5. Norman Smith

    I noticed what looked like Privet in that turtle shot…..just thinking you may want to get a handle on that stuff since it is very invasive.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Norman–Yes, it is privet. All except a few along the riverbank have been removed, and those will go when other plants take their place. Beleive me, it is a small problem compared to the Japanese knotweed we are still fighting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

