Foliage Follow-Up–April 16, 2014

As the temperature dropped into the danger zone, I slipped outdoors at 4:30 this morning to spray a mist of water over some of the most tender spring foliage and flowers. I’m cautiously optimistic, as the temperature reached only 34 degrees F at 6:00 a.m., so the low was roughly 5 degrees warmer than forecast. Fingers crossed! We have one more cold night ahead before conditions improve.

There’s much to admire in the spring garden today, and I admit to a special enthusiasm for the morning’s blue skies and happy birdsong because it’s my birthday. After sharing this time with you, I’m headed to garden club and then out for a bit of shopping for my grandson, David, who will turn one year-old on Friday. I hope you, too, enjoy a fun-filled day.

Hosta 'June'

Hosta ‘June’

Autumn fern (Dryopteris erythrosora)

Autumn fern (Dryopteris erythrosora)

Japanese maple (Acer Palmatum 'Dissectum autopurpureum')

Japanese maple (Acer Palmatum ‘Dissectum autopurpureum’)

Chinese wild ginger (Asarum splendens)

Chinese wild ginger (Asarum splendens)

Heuchera...sorry I haven't kept up with its name.  Perhaps someone knows?

Heuchera…sorry I haven’t kept up with its name. Perhaps someone knows?

Cornus x 'Celestial Shadow', a new tree from Speciality Ornamentals.

Cornus x ‘Celestial Shadow’, a new tree from Speciality Ornamentals.

A front stoop container garden featuring another unknown heuchera, with carex and variegated sage.

A front stoop container garden featuring another unknown heuchera, with carex and variegated sage.

Admired yesterday for its showy bracts, here again is the popular Rainbow euphorbia (Euphorbia x martini 'Ascot Rainbow')

Admired yesterday for its showy bracts, here again is the popular Rainbow euphorbia (Euphorbia x martini ‘Ascot Rainbow’)

And Spring arose on the garden fair,
Like the Spirit of Love felt everywhere;
And each flower and herb on Earth’s dark breast
rose from the dreams of its wintry rest.
~Percy Bysshe Shelley

For more spring foliage, visit Pam at Digging.

37 thoughts on “Foliage Follow-Up–April 16, 2014

    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Thanks, Harriet, for the birthday wishes. And I’m so happy we were lucky with the weather last night! A few degrees colder and we would have lost all our fabulous spring blooms. I’m not ready for it to be over!

      Reply
  1. pbmgarden

    Your foliage displays are fresh and lush. That Cornus x ‘Celestial Shadow’ is unique–very nice. The deer like hostas too much so I gave up on them but am thrilled to see yours. Hope tonight’s cold will not be a problem.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Susie–So far, so good with the hostas, but right now I’m battling voles so they could be gone any minute. So far, they’ve done away with two beautiful Fatsia japonica:^(

      Reply
  2. Johnnie Ruth Sturgeon

    Love the photographs….Had near freezing temps last night, but all plants seem to have survived.

    Reply
  3. Pauline

    4.30am and on your birthday too! Have a wonderful day, shopping for grandchildren is one of the perks of being a grandmother! My Hosta June, both of them, are just about sticking their noses through the soil, they haven’t decided if Spring has arrived yet!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Pauline–Truth be told, I love getting up early. I like when the house is cool and quiet and I have time to gather my thoughts before beginning the day. Thanks for the good wishes, it’s been a perfect birthday!

      Reply
  4. cathy wynne

    Marian, Happy Birthday to you ..We, also, will celebrate our grand daughter Lauren’s first birthday on Thursday. have a great week.

    Reply
  5. Chloris

    Happy birthday. I hope you are having a lovely day.
    What a lot of beautiful fresh spring foliage. That gorgeous Euphorbia again, I love it.

    Reply
  6. rusty duck

    Your photographs on this and the previous post are stunning! I have the autumn fern too, it’s a lovely one. I hadn’t come across rainbow euphorbia before though, interesting.
    Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  7. Suzanne Griffin

    Happy Birthday, Marian! Hope you had a wonderful day today. I certainly enjoyed the beautiful Heucheras!

    Suzanne Griffin

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Pam–hope your son enjoyed his birthday as much as I did mine. I’m older than I would like to admit, but I’ve never outgrown the fun. Hope I get to see your beautiful, dry Austin someday soon; it’s on my list!

      Reply
  8. Hannah

    I like all your variegated leaves, the Chinese wild ginger and Heuchera especially. The Bleeding Hearts are so full, mine usually only has one or two stems of blooms. So pretty!

    Reply
  9. Marian St.Clair Post author

    Hannah–Only an month ago the ginger had zero foliage, as it was all burned by the winter cold (We went down to single digits this year). I cleared away the old leaves just before new leaf buds broke the soil surface, and now the plant is beautiful again. I love gardening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

