Where the Wild Things Are

There is a bluebird nesting in the birdhouse.

DSC_3826

There is a Carolina wren nesting in the black urn.

DSC_3810

There is a house finch nesting in the Carolina jessamine (Gelsemium sempervirens) scrambling up the carport.

DSC_3822

There is a chipmunk living in the brick wall under the birdfeeder.

DSC_3856

There is a black rat snake in the stone wall in the woodland.

DSC_3543

There is a black racer heading for its lair under the patio.

DSC_3871

There is a barred owl perched on the deck rail.

Owl three

Be careful Ms. Bluebird.

Take care Ms. Wren.

Don’t fly now Ms. Finch.

Take cover Ms. Chipmunk.

Bed down Ms. Rat Snake.

Move fast Ms. Racer.

Ms. Owl is hoping for a tasty meal.

34 thoughts on “Where the Wild Things Are

  1. Julie

    Wow, how wonderful to have such a rich diversity of wildlife in your own garden, I would be very nervous of the snake though, are you?

    Reply
  2. Marian St.Clair Post author

    Julie–No, the black snakes are territorial and keep the poisonous snakes at bay, so I am very glad they are here. We know where they live and keep an eye out when we are in the garden. Like anyone else, I don’t like to be surprised, but I’m not afraid when I see them. There are lots of snakes in our region and this is our second home near water, which is a draw for wildlife, so we are cautious but also feel very lucky to live here.

    Reply
  3. Will

    Stupendous, Miss Marian! Your yard is a botanical garden, a zoological park, a wildlife preserve. What joy! (driving out my driveway this morning, there was a black snake making its way across the highway…had to stop to prevent any traffic from running over the creature, whether accidentally or deliberately, as happens too often).

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Will–A few days ago I was visiting a gardener for an interview and a group of neighbors was in the road around a black snake they had just killed. Very upsetting. Don’t understand why folks think they need to kill every snake they see.

      Reply
  4. Chloris

    How amazing to have so much wildlife in the garden, including a corrugated snake. He looks as if you have been using him for origami. I really envy you your bluebirds.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Chloris–the racer is a slim beauty that stretches to her full length of nearly 4 feet when on the move, but if she sees me she stops and kinks up like this.

      Reply
  5. Melinda Hensley

    I love this post. Your closing made me smile. It reminded me of reading a book to my second graders. I taught elementary school for 32 years, am now retired, and loving my yard and flower gardening. Watching a yellow finch at the feeder and a blue bird flying in and out of the bluebird box right now from my screen porch.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  6. rusty duck

    Oh no! Beautiful though the owl is.
    I’ve got woodpeckers coming regularly to the feeders as they have chicks. But I’ve also got a wren’s nest close by. The woodpeckers have already had a go at a Great Tit’s nest so what do I do.. continue to feed the woodpecker chicks or empty the feeders to protect the wrens? Having wildlife in the garden is so damn complicated!

    Reply
  7. thesalemgarden

    Wonderful post Marian! I’m not a snake fan at all but I don’t want them to be killed either. My boys will quietly move them further out in the woods when they find one in the yard (which is awesome)…. the moving part, not the finding part.

    Reply
  8. Judy O'Neal

    A bit different from Neely Farms wildlife. Nice birds but not a fan of snakes. Enjoyed the post

    Reply
  9. Cathy

    At first glance idyllic… until you consider who’s eating who! Loved the way you did this post Marian. We have a lot of wildlife here too, but have never seen an owl that close. Great shot of the snake! If we ever see one they have usually gone by the time we’ve got the camera!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Cathy–I don’t encourage the birds to nest here because of the snakes, hawks, and owls. The birdhouse is not for bluebirds and was only supposed to be ornamental, but the pair was very persistent. I’m very worried about the silly wren as she has picked the most rediculous spot for a nest.

      Reply
      1. Cathy

        The expression “bird.brained” is very apt: We tried to deter redstarts from nesting on our balcony last year but they were determined… just had to keep the dogs indoors when they started flying lessons!

  10. Marguerite P. Warren

    Marian, Your garden is just beautiful; specially enjoyed seeing your post today. You bring joy to our lives as we read your blog.

    Marguerite

    Reply
  11. Pauline

    It’s wonderful when nature decides that you have just the right spot in your garden and wants to share it with you. You certainly have so many varied visitors living close to you, we have snakes too, just grass snakes, we see them in the pond or they curl up on top of the compost heap where it is nice and warm! They are harmless to humans so they are very welcome.

    Reply
  12. Marian St.Clair Post author

    Pauline–I can’t grow all the plants I like in this shady garden near the river, but the wildlife is great compensation! In addition to the black snakes, we have brown snakes and worm snakes, but I haven’t seen either yet this year. I like the idea of your grass snakes on top of the compost heap. Would love to see that!

    Reply
  13. gardeninacity

    Wonderful! I am unbearably jealous. Except for the chipmunk. I don’t even have chickadees in my chickadee house. There are birds’ nests in the area, but I don’t see them.

    Reply
  14. Anne Martin

    Outstanding that you have attracted all this wildlife & taken time to catch them in action……fantastic……….Love ya, Anne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

