Wordy Wednesday–July 16, 2014

I’m a big fan of Wordless Wednesday, but feel you deserve more this week since a horrendous summer cold coupled with pressing work deadlines have curtailed my blogging.

So, here is the photo I planned to post without explanation…but with its backstory.

Escargot anyone?

Escargot anyone?

Mr. Snail, a resident of Highlands, North Carolina, was discovered last Friday on an early-morning prowl. When examining the photo later, I was fascinated by the detail captured by the camera that’s not seen by the eye. And though I’m certainly no expert, this one looks very much like the type that is served as escargot.

I was in Highlands, on a high plateau of the Southern Appalachian Mountains (4,118-feet elevation), for the annual garden tour of Mountains in Bloom, an event which also features a flower show, speaker program, and luncheon. Known for its cool summers (averaging 78 F in July) and abundant rainfall (100 inches annually), the Highlands community is a summer mecca for those who live in much hotter areas of our region, such as Atlanta.

This year’s tour featured four homes and gardens. Since the homes were also open this year, I believe there was less of an emphasis on the gardens. But all were enjoyable and one garden, in particular, caught my fancy. Built in 2009, the brochure noted the homeowners assisted in the garden’s design, which showcases a stream and pond crossed by a rustic bridge on sloping terrain.

From the garage towards the front door.

From the garage towards the front door.

The lower garden with pond.

The lower garden with pond.

From the front door towards the garage.

From the front door towards the garage.

View of the bridge and upper garden from the home's front door.

View of the bridge and upper garden from the home’s front door.

I was also awed by the home’s back porch. I have porches on my mind these days, since I’m hoping to add a new one to my own house soon. What do you think of this one?

Outdoor living at its best!

Outdoor living at its best!

Although the design, with a bump out at either end, wouldn’t suit my home, it provides food for thought. And just look at this view!

Overlooking the Highlands plateau.

Overlooking the Highlands plateau.

Spectacular!

23 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday–July 16, 2014

  1. Gloria Ballard

    Beautiful garden! I’ve been to Highlands several times but never had a chance to see a private garden — though I knew there would be wonderful gardens tucked back in those mountains!

    Reply
  2. Sharon Lanier

    Loved WORDY Wednesday! What a beautiful home, garden, view, bridge…beautiful everything. The porch was so inviting!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Cathy–I think I’m finally coming around, but it has been a long haul with this cold. Fingers crossed for continued improvement; I’m leading a garden tour to the Hudson River Valley on Friday.

      Reply
  3. cgm59@charter.net

    Marian, We love porches too. I will have you over when we finished recovering our porch furniture. 40’ by 15’ across our back looking out over our back lawn and gardens with a farm behind us. Carolyn

    Reply
  4. Chloris

    With a porch and view like that you’ d never want to go anywhere. I love the rustic bridge and the bench.
    If you look at a snail close up like that you’ d never want to eat one again. Perhaps you don’ t anyway.

    Reply
  5. Julie @ Southern Wild Design

    Marian, I moved to the Carolinas from Texas a little over a year ago. I left behind a fabulous porch and view of the Texas Hill Country. I do miss that, but would gladly trade it for the amazing mountain view! Thanks for bringing this garden tour to my attention…I will put it on the calendar for next year. In the meantime, I am building my own outdoor spaces…decks, patios, etc…but no porches. 😦 Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

