Best Made Plans…

I thought I was going to write a blog about a fun visit to the downtown market, but I had to work on a magazine article about dahlias instead.

Peaches at Greenville's downtown market.

Peaches at Greenville’s downtown market.

I wanted to highlight summer’s flashiest flower, but the flood was very unkind to the Lobelia cardinalis I planted last autumn amidst Japanese sedge grass on the bank of the Reedy River.

Lobelia cardinalis, nearly washed away by the recent flash flood.

Lobelia cardinalis, nearly washed away by the recent flash flood.

I planned to tell you about the crack in the patio (circa 1952) worsened by summer rains, the pending removal of the unwanted deck, and the consultation to construct a double-decker porch, but I was overdue in producing the minutes of a June meeting.

Crack in the patio that is the foundation for the unwanted deck.

Crack in the patio that is the foundation for the unwanted deck.

When the monstrosity is gone and porches are in place, I'll plant a backyard garden.

When the monstrosity is gone and porches are in place, I’ll plant a backyard garden.

I wish I could share my excitement about this past weekend’s wildflower hike in Alleghany County, Virginia, and the visit to Humpback Bridge, but now I’m packing for a meeting in Baltimore.

Helianthus strumosus

Helianthus strumosus

Humpback Bridge near Covington, Virginia

Humpback Bridge near Covington, Virginia

Although blogging isn’t working into my schedule just now, I wanted you to know I’m still thinking about you!

What have you been up to lately?

17 thoughts on “Best Made Plans…

  1. entwinedlife

    Traveling… Extreme Gardening… Broken wrist from extreme gardening… So I too thinking of you! Hot pink cast limits ability to type edit weed…

    So reading catching up with friends & enjoying gardens from the veranda… Life is Good! Hugs Jayme B.

    Reply
  2. Anita Humphries

    Can’t wait to see the new porches! Your backyard looks a lot different than when I first saw it! Looks amazing!!!

    Reply
  3. Deen Meloro

    You always give me a view to a different place, and always leave me something to think about. See you soon.

    Reply
  4. pbmgarden

    You lead a busy and exciting life Marian and hope you’re enjoying each part of it. I’m doing a lot of yoga right now, not so much gardening. Great picture of that Humpback Bridge.

    Reply
  5. Sharon Lanier

    Oh my, Marian, you are on the road again!! Hope you have enjoyed some family time in VA??? We have had a great summer and ending it with a trip to FL next week to visit our son, then heading to Boone to kickoff Appalachian State Football season before packing up for Italy! So excited about traveling with you again! Counting the days!
    Sharon

    Reply
  6. Julie

    Looking forward to hearing about your wildflower hike when you have more time to share it. Love the photo too of the humpback bridge, looks like a really good trip.

    Reply
  7. Norman Smith

    Microstegium vimineum…..I HATE that stuff! Time for some weed killer. I got a handle on that stuff in my woodlot…now it’s taken over my lawn..lol. I am having a huge problem with Viburnum dilatatum. It’s on all the property around ours….and keep seeing new seedlings all the time.

    Reply
  8. Mary Rabe

    Please let me know about your dahlia article and when it will be published. My neighbor and I planted them this Spring.

    Reply
  9. Christina

    thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to visit my blog. The deck looks as if it needs to go, wouldn’t want you to hurt yourself. I’m sure you’ll put in something that looks better suited to the house too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

