Monday, Monday

After eight days away, followed by four days struggle with a virus that couldn’t quite decide if it was coming or going (thankfully it went), I set to work this morning and promptly erased (accidently, of course,) the camera memory card, which contained the images needed for today’s newspaper deadline. As The Mama’s and the Papa’s wailed, “Monday, Monday.” You know the rest.

But hey, let’s look on the bright side. All manner of good things happened here at home while I was in Washington, D.C. First, a holiday card arrived…you might recognize the return address.

Holiday greetings from the White House.

Holiday greetings from the White House.

And here’s the message inside…

Greetings for the 2014 holiday season.

Greetings for the 2014 holiday season.

It’s a thrill to receive a holiday greeting from White House each year due to my involvement with the General Federation of Women’s Clubs, an organization dedicated to community improvement through volunteer service. (My recent trip was for a meeting to further this work.) Although this year’s card is not as dramatic as the one sent in 2013, I particularly like its wish for “strength and happiness.”

As if that wasn’t enough, FedEx was busy delivering packages. Here’s a peek at some the books ordered for winter study regarding upcoming travel. The bargain of the bunch was Influential Gardeners–just $1 plus shipping–a treasure trove on 20th century gardeners I hold in high esteem, such as William Robinson, Harold Peto, Beatrix Farrand, and Russell Page, and some I don’t yet know, like Isamu Noguchi and Mien Ruys.

Work and fun for leisure times.

Work and fun for leisure times.

And best of all, a new work camera, another end-of-the-year steal. Admittedly, its technology far exceeds my understanding. Fingers crossed I can learn to use it with a modicum of talent.

Help!

Help!

And if I do, that I can avoid erasing its memory card.

How is your Monday going?

21 thoughts on “Monday, Monday

  1. Susan Temple

    Thank you for the calendar and CD. I make calendars every year for some family. It has garden and travel pictures on it. I was impressed that my rookie eye took pictures of views similar to some of your professional eye. I challenged my memory of the trip by trying to name the locations of your pictures. Merry Christmas to you and your family. See you at some 2015 gardening functions hopefully. We are also hoping to be able to join you again on US travels.

    >>> Hortitopia 12/15/2014 10:41 AM >>>

    Marian St.Clair posted: “After eight days away, followed by four days struggle with a virus that couldn’t quite decide if it was coming or going (thankfully it went), I set to work this morning and promptly erased (accidently, of course,) the camera memory card, which contained t”

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Susan–I’m glad to hear you found the calendar a success! They’re so much fun to make, aren’t they? I’ll see you at the symposium, if not before. And FYI, I’m still working on Maine for August. Will let you know…

      Reply
  2. Nancy Shannon

    I am impressed with your knowledge and how in depth you prepare your trips. I am also impressed with your DC connections. Have you been to Mayfair in dc? Merriwether post,s (, the wife of Averil Harriman) house contains wonderful Russian relics they bought when the revolution wanted to get rid of anything Regarding the tsar. I hope I can return one day as I loved seeing it? They bought when he was ambassador to Russia. N Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  3. Jeannette Pompi

    I can sympathize with the loss of photos. We did the same thing in TUSCANY! No pictures of Michaelangelo, the Vatican, the Italian Countryside, the Villa we stayed at, NOTHING. All wiped out. Made me terribly sad, so I know your pain. An excuse to return and take more!!

    Reply
  4. Christina

    Glad you’re feeling better now. What a bore about deleting the photographs. I was at Wisley today, a lovely slightly misty but with a bit of sun day. I’m envious of your gifts to yourself, no I know, they were both for work – enjoy and do let me know how you find the camera, I’m looking for a new one.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Christina–Wisley! I hope you post some photos, as I can never visit in winter. Yes, I will let you know about the camera after I figure out how to put the lens on the body. LOL, that is how much at a loss I am; I will probably have to get a friend over to help. This particular model (Nikon D7100) is very highly rated and I was lucky to find it on special sale. With the books too, it does look like I have been very greedy. But if I find in December that I’ve made a bit of money through the year, I know I’m safe in making a few business purchases.

      Reply
  5. Martha Robinson

    So heartening to know that Ms. Organized herself “occasionally” boo-boos 🙂 Mine occur more often than “occasionally”..

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Julie–Yes, I feel like Queen for the day when the holiday card arrives. Several of the books look very good. The English Country House Garden includes several places I plan to see in 2015, and I was very impressed with a visit to Marylyn Abbott’s garden last year.

      Reply
  6. Gloria Ballard

    It looks like Christmas came early to your household! So glad you’re feeling better and can enjoy all of it.

    Reply
  7. Sharon Lanier

    Marian, I want those books!! Wow, what a fabulous stack….bet they are full of gorgeous photos too. The camera is way over my head, guess I will stick with my

    Reply
    1. Sharon Lanier

      Ooops! Will stick with my Canon G15, which works well for my needs. I have a book “Cotswold Gardens” by David Hicks, which I need to peek into again & may be of interest to you too! Glad u don’t have the flu.

      Reply
  8. susurrus

    It’s always sad to lose pictures – they’re almost always irreplaceable – and especially when you’re on a deadline, but I always think a great test of character is to see how people react when things go wrong. It appears you look on the bright side, which will bring you happiness, I’m sure.

    I’m really excited to see the new camera you mentioned having ordered – it looks like you’ve chosen well!

    Reply
  9. pbmgarden

    Sorry you lost the photos. I’m seriously jealous of your new camera. Have been eyeing one all year but not sure I would be serous enough to learn to use it well. When you’ve had a chance to explore its features, hope you’ll let us know how you like it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

