When You Think You’ve Seen It All…

I’m in Virginia to help my mother celebrate her birthday today. When growing up, my mom’s family always cut the first fruitcake for her birthday and the last for my Aunt Jean’s on January 6. It’s been many years, however, since we’ve had fruitcake. On yesterday’s drive up from South Carolina, I stopped at the grocery store in town before driving out to the farm because I had forgotten candles for the cake. I thought I might grab a bouquet of flowers too, but this is what I found…

Grocery store Hippeastrum

Grocery store Hippeastrum

Covered in green wax, impaled by a wire stand, and sprinkled with glitter.

Covered in green wax, impaled by a wire stand, and sprinkled with glitter.

A crime against nature! What would prompt someone to think of this? And then decide it was a good idea?

15 thoughts on “When You Think You’ve Seen It All…

  1. Alice

    Oh my, how strange. I just had to do a google search on amaryllis in wax and discovered the technique was started by a company appropriately named Waxz in Europe. Imagine finding one in rural Virginia. There does not seem to be much discussion about what to do after they have bloomed. I would be tempted to peel that wax away, as long as even some of the basal plate is still healthy the bulb might survive.

    Many happy birthday wishes to your mom, have a lovely day with her.

    Reply
  2. Carol Granger

    …an insult to the mighty bulb that holds such beauty inside, to cover it with wax and glitter ! . Am I missing something here? Poor bulb to be so tampered with by humans.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

