End of Month View–January 2015

For a blogger who (lately) posts more photos than story, I’m making an effort to apply myself by joining the meme End of Month View, sponsored by Helen at The Patient Gardener’s Weblog.  Finally, in 2015, I have good reason.  After four years of trying not to say the “P word” because my persistent planning nearly drove my husband crazy, we have engaged a home designer, as well as a builder, to begin the process of adding a back porch to our home.  With any luck, the project will be complete before summer’s end and I can then plant a garden in fall.

On the End of Month View, here is a perspective I think you will see often.

Our long, narrow back garden, soon to be graced with a new porch.

Our long, narrow back garden, soon to be graced with a new porch.

Currently, there is a monstrous deck that extends from the main level of the house which predates our purchase in 2010.  The new addition will be neither as wide nor as deep as the current structure, providing a more graceful footprint.  The basement-level patio will also be removed and reconfigured.

Tim and I deliberated awhile on options.  Did we want a screen porch or a sun porch?  In the end, we decided on a glassed room we could enjoy in every season and an open patio below, which could be screened in the future if we’re not happy with an open layout.  We asked our designer, Kimberly Kerl of Kustom Home Design, to base the style of the porch on the existing architecture of the house.

Recently, I met with Kimberly and was thrilled with all three options she presented.  As you can see from the elevations below, a double window on the upper level of the home will be shorted to make room for a hipped roof.  Also, the width of the porch will be about 1/3 less than the current structure and the porch will be supported by sturdy, square brick columns.  But which version should we choose?

Kimberly Kerl - first porch plans_Page_1 (1)

To be honest, we’ve made our decision.  Can you guess which one we like best?  Do you have a favorite?  I can’t wait to hear what you think.

(Please note: Plans presented by permission.  All rights reserved by Kustom Home Design.)

33 thoughts on “End of Month View–January 2015

    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Michele–You wouldn’t believe how ansy I am to get this project underway. Four years are a long time to wait, but my husband says we are too old for a new mortgage:^) Finally the day is here. I like all three views. The best thing is to have a designer who listens, plus has excellent ideas of her own and knows how to put the two together.

      Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Gloria–The house was renovated 6 years before we bought it and I still can’t understand how anyone thought the current deck would be a plus. It’s too big, too ugly, and too heavy for the patio below, which is splitting in half.

      Reply
  1. mattb325

    That sounds very exciting! To my mind, option A works best: the double (rather than evenly spaced) columns have that American Craftsman vernacular and that option also mirrors the feeling of the two bay windows….but at any rate, it will be a wonderful addition to the house!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Matt–It’s a beautiful and functional house with one blemish–the deck. The new build is our way to make the house truly ours and push it one step closer to perfection.

      Reply
  2. Terry N. Cook

    Although you have a Hipped Roof on your existing Home, I am not sure you need it on the Addition. Get Kimberly to do you an Elevation with the Roof Extending from where the existing roof is on the upper level. You would not have to change the windows. It would change the slope over the New Addition. I think this would Blend with the House as much as the Hipped Roof Distracts, to me. Just my Comment.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Terry–I am glad you are thinking about this! Tim and I went round and round on the style of roof. The decision was made, in part, on what material would be required for each style of roof and what we thought would look best inside the room, as we plan to have an open ceiling.

      Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Cathy–You are right, the choice is just a matter of taste and the result is sure to be fantastic. Kimberly came up with three beautiful options, any of which would work perfectly.

      Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Christina–The view is so important to this house. Looking into the tree tops and over the river below, it’s almost as if we live in a treehouse. I know I’m going to spend a lot of time in this new room, plus it’s going to be a great place for houseplants.

      Reply
  3. susurrus

    I’m risking making a fool of myself here as I can imagine a simple print pattern pretty well in different colours, but I can’t visualise objects from plans. Personally I love the twin columns of A and the scattered arrangement of your windows. So A would be very tempting to me. But to guess what you chose and imagine the conversation… it depends on the relative importance to you of symmetry, space and the view from the inside out. C possibly offers the best balance of all these things but all three designs are very elegant. I like the pointed roof. The biggest talking point may have been symmetry – I’d be unlikely to put anything asymmetrical on a Georgian style home, but when it’s asymmetrical to begin with, it doesn’t hurt to be a little quirky. One thing’s for sure – you’re going to have a lot of spare wood!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Susan–I think everyone is a bit afraid of making a fool of themselves, a pitfall that didn’t occur to me when I wrote the post. I guess I asked people to go out on a limb, but I wanted to know what they thought without influencing their choice. In my book, there isn’t a bad option or a bad pick. You needn’t have worried, it appears we think an awful lot alike:^)

      Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Pauline–You are right, I have been unfair to ask my friends to make a pick when they can’t get a real feel for the situation. And, yes, it is going to be fantastic! I’m really excited to get going and only hope everyone will enjoy reading about the progress as much as I will enjoy sharing it.

      Reply
  4. rusty duck

    It is a very tough choice, I can see pros and cons for all so I will sit on the metaphorical fence! Whichever you choose is going to look fabulous and it will be fascinating following along with the build.

    Reply
  5. Lyn

    I vote A too! I agree with Christina! although I hate to see any windows cropped. But I love the more open view and I agree, the old deck was too mismatched! Congrats on getting it – I hope it is all you dream of! You will love that glassed in room I’m sure!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Lyn–Option A seems to be a favorite with just about everyone. It’s awfully pretty, isn’t it? The porch will have a sitting area and an eating area…I think we’re likely to be out there all the time!

      Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Chloris–Tim and I added an open air porch to our previous home and I have to say I’m not looking forward to the construction phase, but know the payoff will be worth it in the end.

      Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      John–I agree. Honestly, I didn’t think about it too much. On first look, I had a clear favorite and then after talking it through with Kimberly it was still number one, so we went with it.

      Reply
  6. gardeninacity

    I’m also voting A, but whatever you do an all weather porch with glass or big windows is wonderful. We replaced our falling down porch with one and we spend more time in it than in any other room in the house.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Jason–That’s the way I envision this space too. It’s going to be my place to welcome the day with a cup of coffee with two small dogs in my lap, a new spot to work with my laptop, and a fun retreat for dinner with friends. In other words, I think we are going to live out there!

      Reply
  7. carol waters

    HI MARION,
    This does look lovely. I think A looks more balanced and not so top heavy, I’m sure you will enjoy the seasons in your new porch.

    Reply
  8. angiesgardendiaries

    A gets my vote but I don’t know if that’s because of the double doors adding something to the design or drawing my eye to it. The more I look, the more in keeping it feels.
    You must be so excited Marian!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

