Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day–March 2015

After surviving a week of cold, wet weather in Washington, DC, I’m back in my office this morning, window open, relishing bird song, blue skies, and a warm day, with temperatures predicted to reach 80 degrees F (26 C).  Best of all, look what I found blooming in the garden when I returned home.

Flowers & Foliage, March 2015

Flowers & Foliage, March 2015

The collection of Camellia japonica includes (top, left to right) ‘Jordan’s Pride’, ‘Memphis Bell’, unknown white, (bottom) ‘Glen 40’, ‘Memphis Bell’, and an unknown red.  All of these cultivars were likely planted in the 1950s and/or 1960s.  The other flowers are forsythia, Helleborus orientalis (Lenten roses), Edgeworthia chrysantha, Veronica ‘Georgia Blue’, pansies, violas, Pieris japonica ‘Temple Bells’, and Narcissus ‘Tete-a-Tete’ (miniature daffodil).  The foliage is Heuchera ‘Plum Pudding’, Rumex sanguineus (bloody dock), Asarum (Chinese ginger), Nandina domestica, Aucuba japonica ‘Gold Dust’, and Gardenia sp. ‘Variegata’ (commonly called “double variegated”).

The millefliori-style photograph is inspired by the work of Ellen Hoverkamp, but my process is much simpler.  Here’s another inside peek at my studio…

To see what’s blooming in other parts of the world, visit May Dreams Gardens.

24 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day–March 2015

  1. Martha Robnson

    I saw “Bumble Bees” all over my Winter Daphne (Daphne Odora). yesterday, One of my most favorite fragrances.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Jessica–You’re right, but since we were in a deep freeze until just 10 days ago, everything is blooming at once. We should have had camellias and hellebores in January and edgeworthia and forsythia in February. The pieris and veronica are right on time, though.

      Reply
  2. Pat Webster

    I came to South Carolina disliking camellias. After seeing lots of them, I changed my mind. There is more variety, complexity and interest in the flowers than I ever knew. So thank you, SC! And thank you, Marian, for the photos.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Pat–Since we have construction planned, I’m still getting the garden in order, but I plan to add a few of the scented camellias in time. I like single form blooms, so Minato-No-Akebono is at the top of my list.

      Reply
  3. fernwoodnursery

    Marian, I’m just going to close my eyes, click my ruby shoes together, and pretend I’m right there …….with 80 degree temperatures and daffodils. Shoot, I don’t have ruby shoes, just muck boots….will they work? So glad for you and thank you for sharing the promise of spring, it will come our way at some point. Enjoy every minute of it!.

    Reply
  4. pbmgarden

    Your shady garden produces magnificent flowers Marian–so lovely. Hope you enjoyed some time outdoors. It was nice here today as well and even weeding felt magical because of the sun.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Cathy–the step ladder lets me get right above the flowers for a bird’s-eye-view. It’s fun to compose the flowers into a pleasing arrangement. Plus, pulling the scattered blooms of my shady space together makes if feel more like a garden.

      Reply
  5. Christina

    Your garden is showing all its strength this month Marion. I love the way you have displayed your flowers for GBBD which for me has become a rather boring event, well done!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Christina–Putting together the millefliori-style photograph in late winter has become an annual tradition. It’s the only month I have enough blooms! (But, I’m working on that:^)

      Reply
  6. susurrus

    This is really beautiful. The flowers are lovely, but your choice of foliage is holding its own too. The bloody dock really caught my eye – I’m assuming from the folk name those are the ones with the red ribbing effect. I love the way that you’ve paired a ‘creating it’ shot with the finished item too.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Chloris–‘Memphis Belle’ is so full of blooms the tree is about to topple over. The heat has come on so suddenly, everything is blooming at once. Hard to believe it was in the 20s just a few weeks ago.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

