A Shady Garden’s Big Moment

Several days ago, I was surprised to hear the Upstate was more than 2 inches short of rain for the year.  I’d be willing to bet, though, we’ve already moved to the plus side of the equation, as the last few days have been very wet, with lots of drippy rain interspersed with hard downpours.

Luckily, especially for fans of the Masters Golf Tournament (about 115 miles southeast), the past weekend was nearly perfect, with blue skies and moderate temperatures.  And lucky for me, my garden was nearly perfect too.

Here’s a bit of what is blooming in the ornamental garden around the house:

Azalea 'George L. Tabor'

Azalea ‘George L. Tabor’

Spanish bluebells (Hyacinthoides hispanica) with Ajuga 'Chocolate Chip' and violas.

Spanish bluebells (Hyacinthoides hispanica) with Ajuga ‘Chocolate Chip’ and violas.

Azalea 'Girard's Fuchsia', low-growing and compact with vivid blooms.

Azalea ‘Girard’s Fuchsia’, low-growing and compact with vivid blooms.

Red stem Solomon's seal 'Jinguji' (Polygonatum odoratum var. pluriflorum)

Red stem Solomon’s seal ‘Jinguji’ (Polygonatum odoratum var. pluriflorum)

Catesby's trillium (T. catesbaei)

Catesby’s trillium (T. catesbaei)

Kurume azaleas

Kurume azaleas

Viburnum

Viburnum

And in the woodland garden between the house and the Reedy River:

Mayapple (Podophyllum peltatum)

Mayapple (Podophyllum peltatum)

Piedmont American azalea (Rhododendron canescens)

Piedmont American azalea (Rhododendron canescens)

Florida flame American azalea (Rhododendron austrinum)

Florida flame American azalea (Rhododendron austrinum)

Spring is always busy, so I’m glad I was home for the garden’s “big moment.”  I even managed a couple of days planting and spreading mulch, and enjoyed two wildflower hikes.  All that changes tomorrow, though, as I begin a month of nearly back-to-back meetings.  I hope to say hello from Louisiana, Colorado, and Delaware, but if postings are sparse, you’ll know why.

To see what’s blooming in other gardens around the world, visit the host of Bloom Day, May Dreams Gardens.

15 thoughts on “A Shady Garden’s Big Moment

  1. Anita Humphries

    I was devastated when I found out the ‘George Tabor’ didn’t grow in my new climate zone….so I brought one up here anyway and fussed over it fanatically during our freezing winter. Holding my breath that it blooms this spring!!!

    Reply
  2. Pauline

    Your Azaleas are way ahead of ours and you have some lovely ones! It is always a problem deciding when to go away in springtime, you might miss so much. Have a good trip.

    Reply
  3. pbmgarden

    Marian I love your George L. Tabor. I used to have that at my old house, planted by the previous owner, and it always made me so happy to see it in bloom. I’m only now learning about trilliums but the Catesby’s trillium is very unusual. Everything is lovely. Have safe travels.

    Reply
  4. Jean Campbell

    Spring has moved on from here to you. Formosa type Azaleas were kind of sparse after the hard (for us) winter but the Kurumes were a delight. Your native Azaleas are a real show. They’re all done here.

    Love the Bluebells and Violas combo.

    Reply
  5. mjarz

    Marian, so glad you were able to be around for the garden’s Big Moment of spring blooming. Your garden is truly lovely. Best of luck on your travels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

