Wordy Wednesday

I’m a bit forlorn I’m not in London this week for the Chelsea Flower Show, but after a month of back-to-back trips, I’m relishing a couple of weeks at home.  Recently, I was able to squeeze in a pleasant morning at the Joyful Garden Tour sponsored by Christ Church Episcopal, where I captured the enticing image below.

A Charleston-style garden featured on the Joyful Garden Tour.

A Charleston-style garden featured on the Joyful Garden Tour.

Although not at Chelsea, I’ve found a pretty good substitute—four episodes of a recent British television show, now on YouTube, called The Great Chelsea Garden Challenge.  This link is to the first show, a cottage garden design challenge.  If you watch this one, the other episodes should pop up in a “suggested” box.

I never tire of garden tours, which is a good thing, as I’ll soon be in Toronto for the 2015 Garden Bloggers Fling, quickly followed by this year’s first visit to England (outlined here).  If interested, the September tour to England, which includes a visit to the private gardens of HRH the Prince of Wales and the Duchess of Cornwall at Highgrove, still has a couple of openings, as does the August tour to Boston & the Berkshires.

Wherever your upcoming travels take you, I hope they’re filled with flowers and fun…

Terry Gentry's salmon-colored Louisiana iris.

Terry Gentry’s salmon-colored Louisiana iris.

 

 

28 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday

  1. Debra W. Strange

    Hi Marian,

    I wonder if I may ask which home this is. Just beautiful!

    I am the incoming President of The Guild of the Greenville

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply
  2. Julie

    The Great Chelsea Garden Challenge was a great show, the winner has a garden at Chelsea this year as the prize! You have a busy schedule Marian, I visited Highgrove with my Mum two years ago, its a wonderful garden and thrilling to be there too.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Julie–Yes, I do have a busy travel schedule in spring and summer, sometimes too busy. I’m really thrilled, however, with the two tours to England and especially the visit to Highgrove, which will be the cherry on the sundae. Re: The Great Chelsea Garden Challenge, I’ve found Shaun’s Chelsea garden on the internet and it looks wonderful. Kudos to him and all the designers that make Chelsea great!

      Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Susie–I’ve never seen an iris like this one, it’s really an eye-catcher! Hope you like the Chelsea Garden Challenge. It’s similar to the Great British Bake Off, which I loved.

      Reply
  3. johnvic8

    I’m sorry you missed our Charlotte Garden Club tour this year. I will make sure you know about it well in advance next April. We might even have a bed available for an overnight stay.

    Reply
  4. whichwaynow101

    What an exciting year you have planned. I’m missing Chelsea too. Promised myself I would go next year. It’s on every night here on the BBC for an hour so I’m judging all the gardens ! Ha.

    Reply
  5. rusty duck

    It’s a bit of a trek now, so we haven’t been to Chelsea this year but I have been watching it on the telly every night…
    Oooh, that iris. Beautiful!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Jessica–LOL, it’s a bit of a trek for me too. I’m keeping an eye on YouTube for the Chelsea coverage, but haven’t found it yet. Fingers crossed.

      Reply
  6. An Eye For Detail

    Thanks for the link, Marian. Will watch it this evening… Oh, the trip to England sounds just heavenly. I was at Sissinghurst for the first time last September and it was glorious!! We stayed at the newly renovated, and very small, Milk House Pub just down the road and it too was wonderful. I recommend it for anyone!
    Love that iris; my “Teddy Bear” , Louisiana Iris, have been blooming beautifully for the last week.

    Reply
  7. mattb325

    That’s a beautiful photo! Thankyou for the link, that will make some nice viewing on these chilly evenings. It’s great that you get to do a lot of garden tours each year….it is something that I would love to do one day 🙂

    Reply
  8. mjarz

    I love a garden tour and am looking forward to my first Garden Bloggers Fling in Toronto. It would be a pleasure to meet you there.

    Reply
  9. susurrus

    I was a bit forlorn not to be at Chelsea so consoled myself with a substitute too – in my case, a visit to the Dorothy Clive Garden, which was really looking good. We’ve got tickets to Hampton Court instead.

    Reply
  10. Marian St.Clair Post author

    Susan–Gosh, I have really missed Chelsea this year and would have loved to see the Laurent-Perrier Chatsworth Garden, but I always tell people to go to Hampton Court because a late June trip is so much better for perennials and roses, which is what most want to see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

