Final Flourishes

It seems an awful long time since I shared news of an impending porch project and the first photos of demolition of the old deck, but the job is finally drawing to a close.  Anyone who has ever been involved with home construction or rehab knows that’s worth celebrating, in and of itself, but even better, we are thrilled with the final outcome of our project.

Just getting started in June.

Just getting started in June.

Simply put, the first-floor porch and basement patio are better than our wildest dreams.  Even as the final flourishes are added, it just keeps getting better and better.

Most surprising of all, the process has been enjoyable.  Everyone we have worked with, especially our designer, Kimberly Kerl of Kustom Home Design, and our contractor, Mike Carter of Renaissance Company, have gone above and beyond to make sure every detail has been just the way we wanted.  They have made it both easy and exciting for us; I can’t commend them enough.

Here’s the latest…

A beautiful new patio!

A beautiful new patio!

With exacting details to make it perfect.

With exacting details to make it perfect.

And a stunning porch that provides a birds-eye-view of the world beyond.

And a stunning porch that provides a birds-eye-view of the world beyond.

While I’ve been happy to share periodic updates about the porch, I’ve had little time for writing on the blog this summer, which has been disappointing, because I’ve had so many wonderful experiences I had hoped to share.  Needless to say, you’ll be hearing about some of these events this winter, when both the garden and I are enjoying a rest.

I want to tell you about one thing, quickly, now though, because it was so exhilarating…

Last Friday, with other officers of the General Federation of Women’s Clubs, I visited the White House and had to opportunity to meet with Valerie Jarratt, Special Advisor to the President, just prior to a White House Briefing for our Board of Directors.  Following this visit, our group met with General Wilma Vaught at the Women in Military Service for America Memorial, and then toured Arlington National Cemetery, and the Smithsonian’s American History Museum.  It was a great day and one I was glad to share with the most hardworking and inspirational volunteers I know—the GFWC Board of Directors.

GFWC Executive Committee with Valerie Jarratt, Special Advisor to the President.

GFWC Executive Committee with Valerie Jarratt, Special Advisor to the President.

GFWC Board of Directors at Arlington National Cemetery.

GFWC Board of Directors at Arlington National Cemetery.

This afternoon, I will begin to put the final flourish on summer with one last garden tour, a trip to the Cotswolds, London, and Kent.  I can’t wait to share the details and hope to post a few tidbits along the way.  For now, however, just let me give you this one little hint…

What a great way to end summer!

What a great way to end summer!

17 thoughts on “Final Flourishes

  1. Patterson Webster

    The porch and patio look wonderful, Marian, and the hints for the trip quite exciting. I’m sure it will fill up quickly. I’m in England now, about to start the tour we talked about earlier this summer. I’ll be posting as we go along — or at least I hope I will be. I’m very excited to be taking people to some of my favourite spots.

    Reply
  2. Sharon Lanier

    Really, really beautiful even without furnishings! You will absolutely love it, especially this winter with a fabulous view. Getting ready to head to the airport & join you & our “gang” of travelers! So excited about the adventures we shall have!

    Reply
  3. Julie

    Your porch looks fantastic Marian, no wonder you are so pleased. What a wonderful trip to the Whitehouse too, very rewarding. Looking forward to seeing your itinerary, its a little cooler here now but forecast is dry, enjoy every garden you visit!

    Reply
  4. An Eye For Detail

    I am very jealous, thinking of you all going to see those beautiful gardens!
    Your new addition looks just perfect, top and bottom…. Definitely worth waiting for and now you can really enjoy. Looking forward to pictures of this coming week!

    Reply
  5. mattb325

    What a lovely new porch and patio. Everything is stunning – I really like that paving bond. It looks like the sort of impeccable attention to detail normally reserved for craftsman projects!
    Have a lovely time in the UK

    Reply
  6. fernwoodnursery

    Beautiful, Marian! What a very good life you have…….it is so nice when our lives are filled with things we love…..home ( and patio!), travel, adventure, gardens!! so glad you are enjoying it all

    Reply
  7. Chloris

    Your porch is beautiful. What an exciting life you lead. I know you will enjoy Highgrove, I have been a couple of times at different seasons and loved it. Sadly you are not allowed to take photos. Enjoy your trip.

    Reply
  8. Angie

    I’ve not been around much lately and missed the early post about when the work started. Wow! I can see why you are very pleased with the work/design, it is incredible!
    Enjoy your forthcoming trip and I look forward to reading all those impending posts in winter. I’m sure there will be plenty to cheer us up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

