In a Vase on Monday–Jan. 4, 2016

For company on New Year’s day and in anticipation of the freezing weather which has now arrived, I clipped several branches of this red-flowered camellia (C. japonica) for display on the sunporch.

DSC_9213

Other plant material includes a clipping of magnolia (M. grandiflora), a bit of Japanese spotted laurel (Aucuba japonica ‘Variegata’), and a smidge of Japanese andromeda (Pieris japonica) with tiny flower buds.

I’ve enjoyed making a few casual arrangements in my flea-market container in recent weeks and plan to continue throughout the year.  It’ll be fun, I think, to see just how many variations I can come up with.

Be sure to visit Cathy at Rambling in the Garden to see who else is making magic in a vase today.

 

 

29 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday–Jan. 4, 2016

    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Christina–Much has bloomed out early this year because of our very warm November and December. Late winter and spring, ususally beautiful here, may not have many flowers in 2016.

      Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Pat–My husband, Tim, visited Russia as a college student when we were dating and gave me the first lacquer box (the large one in this photo) and I’ve collected them since then.

      Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Donna–I’m afraid you will see lots of the aucuba in months to come, as a long row was planted along one of the property lines many years ago (prior to our arrival), so there is always plenty to clip.

      Reply
  1. Kris P

    Those double red Camellias are gorgeous and you’ve selected the perfect foliage to complement them. With the collection of small boxes and the painting it makes a beautiful vignette! Are those Russian enamel boxes? I had a collection of my own at one time but I’m not sure what became of them.

    Reply
  2. An Eye For Detail

    I have just come back in from spreading white fabric sheeting over some plants outside! I can’t bear to not have my hydrangeas bloom again…and I can see so many buds on them. I think they are well protected now, but we will see.

    Reply
  3. Marian St.Clair Post author

    Libby–Good luck with your hydrangeas. Last year my shrubs produced a few blooms at the bottom of the branches but the upper buds were killed by cold. It’s 25 F here now (at 6 am) so its not looking good for spring 2016 either.

    Reply
  4. fernwoodnursery

    beautiful….so nice to have fresh flowers and greenery indoors this time of the year. You certainly have a great skill for arrangements and design. Happy winter to you!certainly have

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Chloris–You can’t really see it in the photo, but this camellia offers a lot of pollen and the bees were all over it. Now, our weather has turned frigid; the blooms are ruined and its too cold for the bees to be out and about.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

