Almost Wordless Wednesday–Nonfiction Addiction

DSC_9737

From the GGMG Symposium this past weekend–a book from speaker Troy Marden.

 

DSC_9741

In last week’s mail from discount seller Daedalus Books–a book that looks to the past (letters of Lloyd & Chatto) and a book that looks to the future (anyone ready for a tour to Venice?).

 

DSC_9749

Not quite unpacked–box of books from friend Susie who is moving. Thrilled to have the Jekyll account and the advice on paths from Gordon Hayward.

 

DSC_9754

Beside my desk–reference books and new inspiration.

 

DSC_9751

Overflow from the bookshelves–one of these days I’ll get it all sorted out. Maybe.

 

DSC_9758

The horde–a couple hundred or so gardening books I just can’t live without. (Plus a training bike I don’t ride nearly often enough.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Almost Wordless Wednesday–Nonfiction Addiction

  1. Pat Webster

    Marian, I was forced to clean up a bookshelf a few weeks ago — it was threatening to break under the weight of all the gardening books. Luckily by removing the non-garden books, I solved the weight problem and created space for more. But looking at your stacks, I think I have some catching up to do!

    Reply
  2. Beth Jimenez

    Books,glorious gardening books everywhere! What a treat and i wish for you the peace,quiet and time to read all of them.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Beth–I don’t even have to read them front to back. It’s enough just to have them to flip through when I want. In fact, I have a bad habit of reading the books I like over and over again (I think the Lloyd & Chatto book is going to be one of those), and not reading others.

      Reply
  3. Eliza Waters

    Oh, my, you do have it bad! I’ve started going through my old books and donating them, as some I haven’t looked at in years. Times change and I change, so now I’ve got to lighten the load. As my spouse says, “Your children will thank you.” 😉 (This refers to the book, “Can We Talk About Something More Pleasant?” by Roz Chast. The takeaway is to get rid of all your junk before you die, so your kids aren’t left with the job.)

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Eliza–I adore my children; I gave them encouragement, a great education, and taught them to be strong individuals. But I don’t care if they have to clean up my stuff when I’m gone:-)

      Reply
      1. Eliza Waters

        LOL – Experience is the best teacher. We had to dissemble my in-laws home and it was terrible how much got thrown away, as opposed to going to someone who could use it. I love seeing my stuff go off to loving homes. 😉

  4. johnvic8

    I love gardening books (even wrote one myself), but we are starting to think about downsizing and I gave a lot of great gardening books to UNC Charlotte. I have a complete set of Fine Gardening Magazine from issue one, and I don’t know what to do with them. Would you like?

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      John–What a temptation. I only allow my self to keep 3 magazines–The Garden (RHS), Gardens Illustrated, and The American Gardener (AHS). I give my other gardening magazines to the class of new master gardeners each year. Thanks for the offer, though. I bet that’s a lot of magazines!

      Reply
  5. An Eye For Detail

    Heaven! So many wonderful titles here… I’ve just decided to reorganize all my gardening books: the large coffee table type and the small. Yes, what a job. I’m even having new shelves put in my office to (try) for some more organization! I’m reading the letters of/between Nancy Goodwin and Allen Lacy right now and enjoying it so much.

    Reply
  6. Pauline

    I think we’re all the same, bookshelves full of gardening books and piles of them on the floor. I try not to buy too many new ones these days, but all Beth Chatto’s were so useful when making the garden here with so many shady and wet areas, I will never part with those.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Pauline–I believe you are right. Many of my gardening friends love books as much as I do. I’m very much enjoying the Lloyd/Chatto letter book, but it does make me sad to think of it as an era coming to a close. I’ve always considered myself a forward thinker, but I’m facing loss in my personal life, too, and it does make me terribly nostalgic.

      Reply
  7. Christina

    Guilty as charged here too, Marian; I’ve tried sorting but it is rarely possible to throw one away, more so now I’m in Italy and gardening books have to be bought in England when I’m there or ordered on the internet without being able to look through them first. Enjoy!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Christina–I could live for days in the bookshop at RHS Wisley. In fact, I have a rule; I can only purchase 3 books a trip. What that means, of course, is I take lots of photos of book covers with the idea I can order them once I get home.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

