New Year’s Dinner in Review

How can I be so far behind when it is only the third day in January? Perhaps it’s because I spent most of yesterday lounging about and taking cat naps after cooking a New Year’s feast for 10 on Sunday. Honestly, how do people on television shows like 17 Kids and Counting ever get out of the kitchen?

Nonetheless, New Year’s was celebrated with a fabulous meal and special evening with friends. Here’s a quick peek…

dsc_7241

Cutting the country ham before company arrives. Have you ever seen a more hopeful expression than the one on little Bella’s face?

dsc_7249

Happy New Year!

dsc_7251

Oh goodness, I had a plate full, didn’t I? From top: collards, country ham, spoon bread (sort of a cornbread souffle), scalloped potatoes, hopping John, bits from the relish tray, and deviled egg.

Thankfully, I had the forethought to make a few things ahead, which gave me more time to fuss over the tablescape.  To celebrate January’s new start, I wanted the table to sparkle and I think I hit the mark with white, silver, and a touch of fresh green.

dsc_7256

Can you spot the ‘Josef Lemper’ hellebores from the garden?

These low, rectangular vases with eight small openings (now moved to the table on the sunporch), are perfect for dinner parties. Though they were bought on a whim at a clearance sale at Roots on Augusta, they are now great favorites.

When the IAVOM posts began to pop up yesterday, I was surprised and pleased to see the similarity of Cathy’s vase at Rambling in a Garden. Be sure to check out the blog there to see what she and others have made to celebrate the New Year.

Cheers!

22 thoughts on “New Year’s Dinner in Review

  1. Christina

    Happy New Year to you Marian. Wow! that does look like a lot of food on one plate, but it also looks delicious so I’m sure it was easy to eat. The Italians tend to have lots of smaller courses that probably add up to eating more! The vases and flowers look lovely.

    Reply
  2. An Eye For Detail

    I love the flowers and general table setting. Yes, I spot the beautiful Hellebores..and mixed with the greens they are lovely. What a plateful! Well, at least (I hope ) you have lots of leftovers!! Happy New Year.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Libby–Yes, lots of left overs! Did you get to the Dillard’s sale on New Year’s Day? The Southern Living holiday place mats were 75% off, so quite a good deal.

      Reply
  3. Cathy

    Yes, those rectangular vases are lovely, and probably more versatile than my ‘caterpillar’ one – the crysanthemum and hellebores are really set off by the clear glass (I assume its glass) and as you say they seem to sparkle. I could see that ‘hopping john’ was some sort of bean dish, but I had to google it to find out exactly what it was!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Cathy–You are right, they are glass. A bit hard to clean because you can’t dry the inside, but they’re such fun. Would love to have caterpillar vase like yours! Must check the internet.

      Reply
  4. Sharon Lanier

    How lucky were those friends who graced your beautiful, bountiful table! Thought I recognized Susie & Danny, and was that Terrie Gentry too? Your floral centerpieces are gorgeous! Happy New Year!

    Reply
  5. pbmgarden

    Oh yum! Haven’t been able to get that country ham out of my mind since the other day and now you’ve tempted me more! Beautiful meal to share with friends. Love the flowers and special vases.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Susie–I sorry to see so many of our old traditions vanishing, but good news about the ham…I’ve heard they’re becoming a boutique item in the farm to table movement.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

