dsc_7869

This photo was shared for Valentine’s Day, but with the addition of a caption also serves as a heartfelt tribute and link to February’s Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day.

The camellias (Camellia japonica) predate me in the garden, but the ones I can name are ‘Memphis Belle’, center top and bottom; ‘Jordan’s Pride’, also called ‘Hermi’, pink with white edges; and ‘Professor Sargent’, just above ‘Jordan’s Pride’.  The smaller flowers, top to bottom, on both left and right are pansy; Autumnalis cherry (Prunus subhirtella); Chinese fringe (Loropetalum chinense); Carolina jessamine, with green leaves (Gelsemium sempervirens); Chinese paperbush, a yellow rosette (Edgeworthia chrysantha); Tete-a-tete miniature daffodil; Lenten rose (Helleborus orientalis); and viola.  At the center is a single Algerian iris (I. unguicularis).

27 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Sandra Smith

    Thanks so much for the ‘lessons’ on arranging! I do a lot more of that than the signing in the dirt work. Miss seeing you, hope all is well with you and your family.

    Reply
  2. Pam Allgood

    Beautiful! Hope you are having a wonderful day!
    The symposium was magnificent! I can see why it sells out so fast!

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      The camellias predate me, but I know some names. The one at top and bottom center is Memphis Belle (1968); the pink with white edges is Jordan’s Pride, also called Hermi, introduced from Japan 1859; just above Jordan’s Pride is Professor Sargent (1925). The other flowers, top to bottom on both left and right are pansy (periwinkle), Autumnalis cherry (pale pink), loropetalum (fushia), Carolina jessamine vine (yellow trumpet with green leaves), Edgeworthia chrysantha (yellow rosette), Tete-a-tete minature daffodil, hellebores (shades of purple-pink), and viola (deep purple). In the center is Iris unguicularis.

      Reply
  3. Pat Gubbins

    This is truly a work of art and heart! It looks good enough to eat. I sm forwarding it to a number of my friends,ad family who also will greatly appreciate it.

    Reply
  4. Brenda

    Flowers make the best valentines. Although chocolate is good too. The plants I miss the most from my ten years in Georgia are camellias, gardenias, and southern magnolia. So, all those camellias tugged at me. Whether you did it deliberately or not, the heart also looks like a little animal face.

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Brenda–I love camellias and magnolias too, but gardenia fragrance is a bit strong for me, so I like them best through the window. I didn’t see the face in the heart until you mentioned it. The idea popped into my mind several weeks ago, but I was so busy this week I had to put the heart together in a hurry. Then, I had trouble finding the right lighting. So, I had to slide a pizza paddle under the black fabric to move the heart to different locations until I found the best one and by that time the blooms were out of kilter. Focus was another huge challenge. Out of about 80 tries, this was the best.

      Reply
  5. Sharon Lanier

    Absolutely beautiful!! As Pat stated above….a work of art. So colorful & lovely!! Made me take time to do a walk-through of my garden to see what is blooming in it as well. I have several of those camellias and they are looking very pretty.

    Reply
  6. Andrea

    Hi, my first time here. I love your term Hortitopia, wondering if it’s your term or a real one because i am sorry, haven’t read it yet. But your Valentine’s flower display is so lovely, amazing. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

