In a Vase and Other Monday Happiness

Just before Christmas, I remembered to visit a local nursery to gather a few bulbs for forcing.  Pickings were slim, but I bagged a couple hyacinths and an amaryllis.

Hyacinth bulb

Hyacinth bulb

The anticipation of a flower can be just as enjoyable as the bloom itself, I think, especially when it’s kept close at hand so its growth can be observed each day.  This vase, which typically sits in a north-facing kitchen window, was moved to a sunny location to illuminate its roots for the photo.  If the flower comes to fruition, it will be as white as its roots and its sweet fragrance should fill a large room.

I’m making bean soup today and had such a smile on my face when I pulled my vintage bowl out for soaking the dried beans, I thought I would share a photo of the mismatched trio which filled my carry-on bag during the trip home from England in September.

A trio of English mixing bowls.

A trio of English mixing bowls.

Found at the Cirencester Antiques Centre, I have to admit I get quite a thrill every time I see Mrs. Patmore using similar ware in the Downton kitchen.  And yes, everyone in the tour group had a good chuckle over my “big find,” but I dearly love them.

Visit Cathy at Rambling in the Garden to see how other gardeners are filling a vase today.

 

 

34 thoughts on “In a Vase and Other Monday Happiness

  1. Noelle

    Love your bowls..I have them and have used them constantly. With bulbs growing like yours its the anticipation which leads us through the dull months…soon everything will be springing into life

    Reply
    1. Marian St.Clair Post author

      Frogend–I think that is a big part of the reason I like the bowls so much, they are still used! Not only are they “just right” for food prep, they make me feel more a part of the British culture that is my heritage. The earliest ancestor we’ve traced on my mother’s side of the family emigrated from London to Virginia with two brothers in the 1680s.

      Reply
  2. Martha Robinson

    I have a couple of “mixing bowls” that my grandmother and mother used. Treasures, as my grandgirl says!

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    Try and get to a car boot sale next time you come – you should be able to pick them up cheaper. And there used to be at least one Mason Cash outlet shop in Derbyshire or Staffordshire somewhere because they do still make them. I wish you every success with the hyacinth – I have such variable results this way that finally I have reverted to just growing them in pots. Did you have to keep it in the dark first?

    Reply
      1. Cathy

        Next time you come to the UK let me and we could work out where your nearest ones might be – they happen all over the country on a different scale and in large numbers, particularly on Sundays and Bank Holiday Mondays from about Easter to September…

  4. Eliza Waters

    I have a couple of Gripstand bowls myself! You can still buy them from specialty shops like Williams Sonoma. They are great when you need to tilt the bowl to beat something and the handy ‘foot’ holds it in place. I, too, noted Mrs. Patmore using them in the last episode. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Cathy

    Oh Marian, I had to laugh as I also brought a large stoneware pudding bowl back from the UK some years ago! I use it constantly, so I was horrified this Christmas to hear my Mum had given hers away as she found it too heavy… hope it also found a good home as hers was true vintage from the 50s! Enjoy the soup! 😉

    Reply
  6. Chloris

    My mother always used Mason Cash mixing bowls and so do I. Bean soup, that sounds good.
    It’ s lovely to watch hyacinths unfurling at this time of the year.

    Reply
  7. langleyae

    Whole article about your bowls and Mason Cash Pottery in the most recent (Winter, 2016) edition of The Cottage Journal (Volume 7, Issue 1, page 18) entitled, “Bowled Over.” I recognized them immediately!

    Reply

Leave a comment